Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

I wonder how I can make my first money and when I know that I am ready? And what to do?

Diddie

New Coder
So since a few months I study Python on the side and got the basic understanding down. Even did a few projects in the course.

Now I would like to know what to focus on next? I want to make money (duh), but maybe one the freelance market. Unfortunately I am sometimes disconnected from the internet for days due to travelling and this disqualifies me from working for a corp.

I try hard to find different income, but there is nothing online for unskilled people.

So how do I know I am ready? Do you have projects, or types of projects, that I can try myself on, the type I would be able to find "in the wild"? I know I am a beginner, and I don't expect to make thousands overnight. But a small 20 dollar project here or a 100 dollar project there...

I know of all these modules out there but don't know which one is best to study to get my first jobs?

I mean experience has to come from somewhere, right? Just because I recently lost my transcription job(and don't find replacement) doesn't mean I give up. 😅

Lacking knowledge, but the ambitions are high. Shouldn't be impossible!

Advance your knowledge of the fundamentals of Python: "basics" can sometimes be vague. Do you know about classes/objects and their relationships? How to write your own functions and modules? What about dictionaries/lists? It's important that you know and understand all of the fundamentals of a language before getting any deeper into it.

Once you have covered the fundamentals, learn what you can do with the language. Python has a vast collection of APIs, libraries, and frameworks, so take advantage and learn the ones needed for your interests(so, if you like machine-learning for example, you might want to learn TensorFlow).