Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Hey there :)

sn0w

Active Coder
I've been mostly lurking for the past week and thought a little intro might be overdue.

Hey :D
People call me sn0w on the internet.
I'm a 21 year old developer from europe who enjoys low-level code and high performance.
I started coding during 3rd grade when my friend showed me an awesome book about C# and VS 2005 that his dad bought him.
A lot of stuff has happened since then, and I eventually ended up writing C++ for a living.

You'll likely see me a lot in the C/C++, Linux, and "Other Languages" sections.
I love to help people, but I also hope to learn some new things here.

Something that I'm currently very interested in is VM- and compiler-design.
If any of you knows a thing or two about this, please let me know :whistle:

I'm sure that we'll have a good time together.
See you around o/

Hey there, Welcome to Code Forum! :)

What are some of your major accomplishments that involved C++?

What are some of your major accomplishments that involved C++?

I think one of my most interesting C++ projects happened last year at work.
I can't go into too much detail but we basically searched a solution for watching huge amounts of files and folders in a very performant way.
We needed realtime information about all file/folder creations, deletions, renames, and content modifications in a given (deeply nested) folder.
All of this needed to be available without any noticeable disk- or CPU-overhead.

The Linux kernel does ship with tools like inotify(7) or fanotify(7), but those were too limited in features and/or performance for our usecase.
Eventually we discovered the Linux Auditing System (https://people.redhat.com/sgrubb/audit/) which was promising.
It's a Linux kernel module that allows you to get notified when syscalls occur, like open(2), write(2), renameat(2), ...