Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

MrOldham101

New Coder
Context:

I am a professional full-stack web developer currently working on a medium to large scale web app. The system is developed mainly in PHP and we have adopted a very procedural style of coding using large repositories for each "module" of our system that contains all the functions related or required for that module.

So far this approach has allowed us to release large new features extremely fast as we do not have to think about what the data may look like in the future (like in OOP) we just deal with the data we have right now and make changes as and when required.

Issue:

As we have expanded so quickly our app has quickly become spaghetti code that is getting harder and harder to maintain and develop on. For example, we might have a function to edit an entire user and then another function just to update their permission and if we wanted to add some sort of validation or check to see if they can actually edit a user we would have to go round the system trying to find all the functions where the user is updated and add the validation call to each one which you can imagine is very error-prone. To solve this we are currently undergoing a major restructure converting our procedural style code into Object-Oriented Code.