Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!
  • Guest, before posting your code please take these rules into consideration:
    • It is required to use our BBCode feature to display your code. While within the editor click < / > or >_ and place your code within the BB Code prompt. This helps others with finding a solution by making it easier to read and easier to copy.
    • You can also use markdown to share your code. When using markdown your code will be automatically converted to BBCode. For help with markdown check out the markdown guide.
    • Don't share a wall of code. All we want is the problem area, the code related to your issue.

To learn more about how to use our BBCode feature, please click here.

Thank you, Code Forum.

Python A simple Python script to organize files on your desktop

Ghost

Platinum Coder
Hey all,

I want to preface this by saying that I am no expert in Python. I only just started learning, but have wanted to for a while.
I agreed to help my father organize his files, and I quickly found that everything was so scattered that I needed some help from a script.
I decided to write my first Python script to take image files & put them in a new folder called /images/, and do the same with .txt, .doc, etc files in /documents/
I did not develop the script further yet because I still need to go back to organize his PC, but here's what I got so far & it works!

I installed Python 3 to get this up & running, so I simply run it with "python filename.py" in the command line - in the directory my file is located.
This script only looks for files in the current directory, so I used it to quickly grab files in his desktop. I then moved the file to other disorganized folders. I did it this way to avoid any sort of crazy loop because SOME of his folders ARE organized (pictures / docs are related) and I didn't want the files to be split up.