Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

From poker to coding

Nick

Coder
Hey guys, whats up!

My name is Nico, 28y from Vienna, Austria.

As the title says, I am an ex-poker pro. I have played professionally for 10 years after playing Yu-Gi-OH at a pro lvel from age 13-18,but as of a few weeks ago decided it was time to quit the game for good. In poker you have many different variations to play, be it different games that are poker, different formats like tournaments or cash games and then how many players are playing on a table (Heads Up - 1 vs 1, 6 max – 6 players, fullring – 9 players)
If you know 1 format you know 20-50% of any other format too, so changing formats is doable but you still need to build a new set off skills on top your current ones.
My main format was heads up. I like the competition, to outwork my opponents and by battling vs 1 1 I made good money but eventually heads up started to be less and less attractive due to many regulatory reasons in Austria. I wasn’t keen on moving country to pursue poker even more.
I travelled a lot in my early poker years but realized travelling is not what I am passionate about. Every time I travel outside Austria, I realize how much I love Vienna and why it is one of/the most liveable city in the world.

For the past few months, I tried switching formats but I just couldn’t get myself to study anymore, my passion that I had for the game was gone and the more negative sites started to drown on me more and more. The negative things mostly being that it’s a competition and you are competing against other people to make a living, if you don’t have passion for it anymore it becomes borderline impossible. Furthermore, you can never switch off from the game, after you finish your day, your head is still in the game and a tab with 20% occupancy is constantly running, making it hard to enjoy other things in life.