Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!
  • Guest, before posting your code please take these rules into consideration:
    • It is required to use our BBCode feature to display your code. While within the editor click < / > or >_ and place your code within the BB Code prompt. This helps others with finding a solution by making it easier to read and easier to copy.
    • You can also use markdown to share your code. When using markdown your code will be automatically converted to BBCode. For help with markdown check out the markdown guide.
    • Don't share a wall of code. All we want is the problem area, the code related to your issue.

To learn more about how to use our BBCode feature, please click here.

Thank you, Code Forum.

Server Side Events for data update

CJS Santana

New Coder
I'm just learning SSE and find plenty of tutorials demonstrating how to create a web page that displays messages one after another.
For example, lots of examples show how to display the current time every few seconds. Each event adds a line below the previous one like:

The time is 1:00
The time is 1:01
The time is 1:02

What I want to do is receive data that I can use to update text on a page that does not show as multiple lines.
I would like to be able to handle the received data by SSE and handle the text just like any other.
There are a few examples of sending xml or json as the data, but I can't figure out how to parse it out of the
received message and apply it to elements of a page.

I'm trying to keep this short, but I hope you can see what I'm trying to do.
On a previous page that I created, I used polling to update inner html and that works, except the polling is
not the best way to go. I really only send messages every several minutes, but when I do I want them to appear
within a few seconds, so I would have to be polling all the time just to do a few updates now and then.